New York City Summer Cont.

June 10, 2009 at 3:24 am (Uncategorized)

So far my internship experience at ELLE has been phenomenal. It’s surreal, glamorous and hard work. Because of the number of us and the somewhat long work hours, most interns are part-time, including me now. Consequently, I’ve picked up another internship at ITMG, a fashion-forward public relations firm. I start working there June 11.

I am dealing with confidential editorial content on a daily basis at ELLE, and I’ve signed a contract stating that I will not blog about my internship there. As a result, I’ll tell you more about my time at ITMG, if they allow it, and I’ll continue to talk about my time in the city.

In New York, there’s always something to do, and there is always something new to see. So, to make the most of our time here, my friends and I have made a list of everything we want to do and see while we are here. For the past week, in our free time, my roommates and I have been making check marks on our list.

South Street Seaport

South Street Seaport

We went to the South Street Seaport, which is on the water. It provides a spectacular view of the Brooklyn Bridge, and the seafood there is delicious. We’ve gone to Central Park on various occasions to tan and cool off in the fountains. And we have tested out various night clubs, where girls get in free, of course. At one hot spot, The Pour House, a bar close to my area, my roommates saw Whitney Port from the MTV shows, “The City,” and “The Hills.”

Living in a dorm here was the best decision I could have made. I have a meal plan, so I don’t have to worry about starving or money for food, and I’ve met so many people here going through the same things as me. We’ve all moved away from home, we’re all on our own, trying to get ahead in life. Because of that shared experience, we’ve formed a bond, and the people I’ve met have become my family away from home.

A down side to living in the dorm is that when one person gets sick the entire floor seems to be infected. One guy, living down the hall from me moved in sick. Within days he went home and was hospitalized with a high fever. He came back to the city on Sunday, and he along with our NYU family went to a movie together. We saw “The Hangover,” which I highly recommend; it’s hilarious. That night, as we were walking back to the dorm, I realized I didn’t feel well at all. One guy offered me medicine, and another offered me vitamin C and a thermometer. I had a temperature of 101.7.

Even though I was sick, I still attended work on Monday, because I didn’t want to make a bad impression by missing a day my second week at ELLE. Around 2:00 p.m. an editor went home sick. Then I found out an intern went home sick the week before, and then, I was sent home early enough to make a stop at the NYU Health Center. There, I was told I had a virus, I was contagious, and I was advised not to return to work for at least 48 hours. And so, I’m spending most of my day today sleeping and recuperating. My friends and roommates are taking good care of me.

I hope to be well for work tomorrow morning, for my first day at ITMG Thursday, and for my birthday on Friday. Although I wish my loved ones in Nebraska could be here, I can’t wait to celebrate turning 22 with my New York family and friends.

Leave a Reply

