My summer in the city cont…

July 9, 2009 at 2:43 am (Uncategorized)

OK, OK, so I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything new, but I’m busy people- busy, busy!

ELLE is still fabulous, as are my friends and NYC family. ITMG, the global PR firm I’m at, is so great. I’ll begin where I last left off, my birthday.

I was working at ITMG the day of my birthday, and because we are located on Madison Avenue (famous for high fashion and shopping), my boss allowed me to shop for a birthday outfit on my lunch break. Yes, I know I’m lucky, and yes, I love my life here. Once I found a dress for my birthday, I came back to the office, where I was presented with a chocolate cake while my coworkers sang happy birthday in Italian, French and English.

Work there is awesome. I sit at my own mahogany desk, next to the CEO, where I contribute, in a positive and productive manner to ongoing projects. I work hands on with our already reputable clients and learn something new each day. Go to www.itpublicrelations.com to find out more about ITMG.

At Justin Timberlake's restaurant on my birthday

At Justin Timberlake's restaurant on my birthday

For my actual birthday, I went to eat at Justin Timberlake’s restaurant, Southern Hospitality, with about 20 friends. There my friend Molly, who happens to waitress there, brought me free appetizers and desert. We sat at a table next to Diem and Joanna from the Real World/Road Rules show on MTV.

Aside from work, I’m just enjoying all the city has to offer: late night sirens, the soothing hum and vibrations of the MTA subways and the sea of men in business suits in the morning outside Starbucks on 49th and Broadway (ELLE is at 50th and Broadway).

Central Park

Central Park

I’ve also started frequenting my favorite places in the city. Central Park is perfect to run, clear my mind, and catch some sun. The piers along the Hudson River bring fresh air straight to my nostrils. And of course I’ve found delicious restaurants that offer fairly priced drinks after a long week of work.

Me at the Met with one of my roommates

Me at the Met with one of my roommates

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, or the Met, is also a favorite spot of mine.

I must also mention the fourth of July here was incredible. Google “Macy’s fireworks 2009,” and click on the first thing that pops up. There you can read about the “40000 shells exploding at a rate of more than 1500 per minute,” over the Hudson River for about 30 minutes. I watched the glorious and patriotic display on a blocked off section by the river where I was so close each explosion felt like a deep thump on my chest. The bright lights, loud crackles and subtle reverberations gave me chills that can only be described as incredible.

I have about 4.5 weeks left here in New York City, and I’m trying to savor it like an overpriced, yet delicious and succulent bite of shrimp risotto in Little Italy. It’s going to be hard to leave this place.

Leave a Reply

